Home / Common Questions / What Are Some of the Common Foods that Contain Gluten?

What Are Some of the Common Foods that Contain Gluten?

What Are Some of the Common Foods that Contain Gluten?
What Are Some of the Common Foods that Contain Gluten?

Having a gluten-free diet is considered very healthy nowadays. This is why you are seeing a steady increase in the demand for gluten-free foods in the market. Does this mean that gluten is harmful for the body? Not really.

There are three reasons why someone would want to switch over to a gluten-free diet. Firstly, the gluten-free diet does offer plenty of health benefits. Hence, it makes sense why someone would want to adopt this diet and let go of gluten completely. Secondly, going gluten-free has become a modern trend. Everybody wants to be a part of this trend before the novelty wears off. Lastly (but most importantly), there are people in the world who suffer from gluten intolerance which could be in the form of gluten sensitivity, gluten allergy or celiac disease. Consumption of gluten can have serious implication on the health of these people. Hence, it is mandatory for them to avoid gluten at all times.

If you want to go on a gluten-free diet for any one of the abovementioned reasons, you need to first identify the foods that you should avoid eating. In other words, you need to make a list of some of the common foods that contain gluten. To help you out, we have prepared a list of six such foods. People are under the impression that breads and cakes are the only foods that contain gluten. As you will find out from this list, there are plenty of other foods, including those that are non-solid, you need to avoid if you want to go gluten-free.

1) Cream Soups

Getting the roux right is the key to making any cream soup taste delicious. But the roux is exactly what you need to avoid as a person who is on a gluten-free diet. This is because the roux is basically a mixture of flour, butter, cream or milk. The idea of having gluten containing flour may not cross your mind when you are digging into a cream of asparagus or mushroom soup, but it’s highly likely to be present in your bowl. As an alternative, you can give stock based and pasta free soup a try. That being said, there are many stock soups that contain a fair amount of gluten.

2) Soy Sauce

Soy sauce is an integral part of many healthy diets, but it is better left untouched by those who are trying to stay free from gluten. This means that you may have to skip the Chinese buffet since a lot of items in that menu is seasoned with generous amounts of soy sauce. The cheaper soy sauce varieties contain considerable amounts of wheat. This may or may not be mentioned on the label, so you are advised to not take any chances. If you really want to experience the taste of soy sauce, then try out tamari soy sauce that is free of wheat and gluten.

3) Some Flavours of Ice Cream

Do not start crying yet. We are not forbidding you from having ice cream. All we are asking you to do is be a little careful the next time you are going on an ice cream binge. In most cases, ice cream does not contain gluten. However, there are some brownie flavoured ice creams that contain plenty of wheat. This is why it is better to ask the person who is serving the ice cream to you whether the product is gluten-free or not. In fact, the safest option is to make ice cream at home, provided that you are the industrious type.

4) Salad Dressing

Salad dressings are supposed to be all healthy and safe right? Not always. Regardless of whether you are having cream or oil based salad dressing, there is a very good chance that gluten has been used in its manufacturing process. In most cases, the presence of gluten is not mentioned on the label. The best option here is to avoid salad dressing altogether. However, if you like the product too much to give it up, then you should contact the manufacturer and learn more about the gluten content of your favourite salad dressing.

5) Potato Chips

Most potato chips in the market are safe for people with gluten intolerance. However, you are strongly advised to not take any risks. Potato chips that are heavily seasoned do contain wheat in many cases. Identifying potato chips that contain wheat should not be too difficult a task. The real challenge is not making the faulty assumption that your potato chips are free from flour. It is preferable to not buy potato chips from the supermarket. Instead, visit one of the health food stores in your town or city. They are sure to have a good supply of gluten-free potato chips.

About Drew Conklin

Check Also

pork banh mi pulled

What is Pork Banh Mi?

What is Pork Banh Mi? Pork banh mi sounded to me like “ban me, pork!” …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *