Home / Common Questions / What Kind of Foods Contain Gluten?

What Kind of Foods Contain Gluten?

What Kind of Foods Contain Gluten?
What Kind of Foods Contain Gluten?

The life of a gluten intolerant person becomes more difficult when he or she does not have enough information about the basics of living a healthy and happy gluten-free lifestyle. Unfortunately, there is no definite cure for gluten intolerance. This means that people with celiac disease, gluten sensitivity and gluten allergy need to depend on dietary abstinence to stay free from illness, disease and health complications. Hence, it is imperative for such people to be well informed about all the foods that they should avoid and how those foods can harm their bodies.

The Impossible Task of Remembering All Gluten Containing Foods

If you are suffering from gluten intolerance, it would be an impossible task for you to memorize each and every single food item that contains gluten. Instead of trying to cram the names of all the gluten containing foods in your head, you should make an attempt to learn about the distinct types of food that are likely to contain gluten. In order to do that, you need to dig deeper into the world of food chemistry. In other words, once you get to know why certain types of food contain gluten, it will be easier for you to make assumptions about the gluten content of other types of food based on your knowledge of food chemistry.

Indentifying Gluten Foods and Avoiding Them

One of the reasons why it is not too difficult to identify the types of food that contain gluten is because most of them are extremely common. For instance, ingredients made from wheat, barley and rye should be strictly avoided by someone who is a on a gluten-free diet. This means that items such as bread, cakes, spaghetti, pretzels, muffins, sponge puddings and pie crusts are off limits for the gluten intolerant individuals. The fact that gluten is present in common foods that are consumed everyday is a big problem for people who are suffering from gluten intolerance or for those who are trying to be healthier by keeping their digestive system free from gluten. Sure, it makes the job of pinpointing gluten containing foods easier, but it makes avoiding those foods a lot harder. If you are switching over to a gluten-free diet, you need to let go of a lot of foods that you are consuming on a regular basis if not daily. This can present serious problems in the life of any individual. Replacing these common foods with worthwhile substitutes is not an easy task by any stretch of the imagination, despite the fact that gluten-free foods have become immensely popular in recent times.

Foods with MSG Often Contain Gluten

It is a common misconception that foods derived from wheat, barley and rye are the only ones that are contaminated with gluten. A food does not have to be produced from wheat in order to cause havoc in the gastrointestinal system of a gluten intolerant individual. There are many foods out there containing MSG which can be as detrimental to the health of a gluten intolerant individual as bread, cakes and pies. Majority of the foods that contain MSG are enriched with gluten. A few examples of such foods include ranch dressings, non-potato chips, chicken nuggets and other items that are commonly sold at notable fast food centres. The high gluten and MSG content creates a dangerous combination that can make a gluten intolerant person suffer from severe health complications.

Beware of the Beer

Gluten is not only found in solid foods. If you were to Google search images of gluten foods, you would probably come across a selection of breads and cakes. This gives off the impression that gluten can only be present in baked foods. The strong association that gluten has with bakery has misled gluten intolerant people into believing that all drinks in the world are safe from consumption. What these people fail to realize is that drinks can be contaminated by gluten just as easily as solid foods can be. In fact, some drinks can be directly sourced from gluten containing grains. The perfect example of that is beer. There are many people who experience the common symptoms of gluten intolerance after drinking a considerable amount of beer. Finding a substitute for gluten drinks is a near impossible task. You can find gluten-free beer in the market, but they are very rare and highly expensive. Hence, the more feasible solution is to simply eliminate the drink from your diet. You cannot always rely on substitutes. Going gluten-free does involve a bit of sacrifice.

If you are gluten intolerant, never think about intentionally consuming foods that contain gluten. It can trigger horrendous reactions in the body that can lead to conditions such as dizziness, vomiting, rashes, osteoporosis and migraine along with digestive issues such as constipation and diarrhoea.

About Drew Conklin

Check Also

pork banh mi pulled

What is Pork Banh Mi?

What is Pork Banh Mi? Pork banh mi sounded to me like “ban me, pork!” …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *